Dreamcatchers and Gods Eyes

I love the look of Dream Catchers and I knew the basics behind what they mean, but till this blog posting, I’d never really read about them. Dream Catchers have very interesting Native American lore. Here’s an excerpt from http://www.dream-catchers.org/.

Native Americans believe that the night air is filled with dreams both good and bad. The dream catcher when hung over or near your bed swinging freely in the air, catches the dreams as they flow by. The good dreams know how to pass through the dream catcher, slipping through the outer holes and slide down the soft feathers so gently that many times the sleeper does not know that he/she is dreaming. The bad dreams not knowing the way get tangled in the dream catcher and perish with the first light of the new day.

Isn’t that cool. 🙂

Next we have God’s Eye, which I’m embarrassed to say, I knew nothing about till today. Here’s and excerpt from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/God’s_eye.

The Ojo de Dios or God’s eye is a ritual tool, magical object, and cultural symbol evoking the weaving motif and its spiritual associations for the Huichol peoples of western Mexico. The God’s Eye is symbolic of the power of seeing and understanding that which is unknown and unknowable, The Mystery. The four points represent the elemental processes: earth. fire, air, and water. The Huichol call their God’s eyes Sikuli, which means “the power to see and understand things unknown.” When a child is born, the central eye is woven by the father, then one eye is added for every year of the child’s life until the child reaches the age of five.

Truly interesting to read about. There is a lot more to the God’s Eye lore then the snip I posted, so if your interested you can read more about it in the link I posted above.

Chani, Zibbet shop owner of Crowsdance Designs, has a very unique collection of both Dream Catchers and God’s Eye.  An excerpt from Chani’s Zibbet profile:

Creating art is like breathing. I could stop, but why would I ever want to?

Art and craft are my true passion. I have been drawing, sculpting, crafting, or otherwise creating for as long as I can remember. Even when I find myself with some time to relax, before I realize it, I am planning the next project.

I have found I truly love designing and creating jewelry and find myself devoting much of my time is learning all that I can. There is always more to learn, new techniques to try and my personal designs to perfect.

Crowsdance Designs also has as a variety of beaded jewelry, wire wrapped jewelry, painted wood jewelry, and art prints.

Shooting star dreamcatcher yellow and red beaded

Shooting star dreamcatcher yellow and red beaded

Gods eye Ojo de Dios pink brown ivory and cream color

Gods eye Ojo de Dios pink brown ivory and cream color

Dreamcatcher beaded in orange and dark green

Dreamcatcher beaded in orange and dark green

This entry was posted in Zibbet Artist and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

