Doilies have a job to do

While browsing Mary Alice’s Zibbet shop, OKB this morning, I noticed her beautiful crocheted doilies. Instantly it brought back memories of my Great Grandmother. I’m the proud owner of several of my Great Grandmother’s hand crochet doilies and I keep them safely tucked away in a keepsake box. I’d love to display them but they have become fragile from age and it’s important to me to keep them safe, so that they can be passed down to the next generation.

I researched the history of doilies and there seems to be some conflicting opinions as to how far they date back and who may have invented them. Doilies did serve a purpose other than just being something pretty for a flower vase to sit on. It’s hard to believe but it seems that, these delicately woven lace like creations were designed to have several functions through out history. Here are a few ways Doilies have been used:

*To protect furniture fabric from hair oils.

*To protect fine wood furniture from dishware scratches.

*They have been used as lap drapes to protect clothing from spills while eating as well as being used as napkins.

*Doilies are used to bind the stems in flower arrangements. (tussie-mussies)

*They have been used as hair nets and as decorative hair accessories.

Whatever their original function, to me doilies are works of art and Mary Alice has mastered the art of crocheting doilies. Not just doilies tho, it’s clear from visiting Mary Alice’s Zibbet shop, OKB that she has mastered crocheting in all ways. 🙂 Here’s an excerpt from Mary Alice’s Zibbet profile:

I love crocheting, especially baby items. Baby dresses are one of my many favorite items, so you will most likely be seeing alot of those in my shop.

I have been crocheting for over 40 years. Next year I retire and will be able to devote even more time to my passion. YEAH!!!

Looking in my shop you will find a number of different items. This is because I love variety and will crochet whatever catches my eye at that moment.

I crochet with thread as well. I enjoy making doilies, table runners, filet crochet just to name a few items.

I know my blog focus has been on doilies, but I hope you’ll stop by OKB and browse the various selections of Mary Alice’s hand crocheted items.

Multi color Doilies

Multi color Doilies

Lacy Crochet Baby Dress Pink and White

Lacy Crochet Baby Dress Pink and White

Crochet Patch Work Baby Blanket

Crochet Patch Work Baby Blanket

This entry was posted in Zibbet Artist and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

