Micro Macrame

My mother insisted I take a macramé class when I was a teen. I was resistant to take the class, not because I didn’t want to learn macramé, but I am what I call, socially challenged, so being around people I didn’t know, was never fun. The class turned out to be a good time, and I really enjoyed macramé. Moms do know best. 🙂

This was back in the 70’s so I made the usual stuff like wall hangings, the owl, (which you saw everywhere back then) and plant hangers. To give you an idea of macramé back then, do a Google search of 70s macramé, and you’ll see some cool macramé!

I didn’t stick with it because back then money was an issue and macramé was more of a luxury hobby and we just couldn’t afford the extra expense of cording. I wish I had known that macramé could be done on a smaller scale, (like jewelry) I’d probably still be doing it today.

Macramé has changed a lot since the days of big and clunky knots to small and intricate pieces of fine jewelry. Frauke of Handmade Fuzzy has become quite the expert at micro macramé and creates beautiful unique pieces of jewelry. Here’s and excerpt from Fauke’s Zibbet profile:

Hi, my name is Frauke. Don’t worry if you can’t pronounce it, I know it’s hard and believe me I heard all kinds of variations of my name 😉
I am a German feeling at home in the US, to be exact, the East Coast in the pretty State South Carolina. To fight the homesickness that sometimes sneaks up on me, specially around Christmas time, I use my crafts as an outlet.
I grew up in Australia and Papua New Guinea as well as in Germany.
In Germany I worked for over 15 years as a Social pedagogy in Day cares, Kindergarten and Foster and Handicap homes. I enjoyed my work with the kids and love that I can reconnect over the internet with the now grown “kids”. Now I get to enjoy my own kids at home.

I knit, crochet and sew. I have picked up micro macrame a little while ago and enjoy creating with the cords and beads. I do tend to stick more to the knitting in the Winter time though.

As mentioned in Frauke’s profile, she also knits, crochets and sews so you’ll find a good variety of yarn works in her Zibbet shop Handmade Fuzzy. Visit Handmade Fuzzy and see what today’s macramé is about.

micro macrame bracelet

Turtle, macrame necklace

jasper hat

This entry was posted in Zibbet Artist and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Micro Macrame

  1. blnl says:

    Sooooooooooo talented!!!

Leave a Reply

