Polymer Clay in the Hands of an Artist

I don’t know much about polymer clay, but I know it’s used for making jewelry as well as other things. I’ve seen beautiful jewelry made from polymer clay so I’m curious about what it is and went in search of information about this way of jewelry making. I found an article about polymer clay at PolymerClay.net

Polymer Clay, one of the best mediums to be used for a hobby, is not actually true clay, but a sculptable material based on the polymer polyvinyle chloride (PVC). It is named “clay”, only because of its texture and working properties resembling those of mineral clay. It is sold in craft, hobby, and art stores and is used by artists, hobbyists and children.

The polymer clay is sculpted, rolled, or cut into shapes before being baked in an oven at low heat, up to about 275° Fahrenheit (135° Celsius) to harden it. After baking, this clay becomes firm enough so that it won’t break easily. Artists then sculpt the clay into figurines, as abstract multi-colored shapes or whimsical  caricatures of people or animals. Jewelry artists then create beautifully detailed beads, pendants, brooch pins and sculpted shapes for necklaces and earrings. The polymer clay can also be used to create ornaments, magnets, key chain pieces, plant stakes, cake toppers and many more items.

Sounds like fun to me! I may have to revisit this site and give this hobby a try.

This week our group is promoting Cate, Zibbet shop owner of  Fulgorine. Cate is a polymer clay artist and makes her own jewelry.

An excerpt from Cate’s Zibbet profile:

I am originally from South Africa, but I have now been living in England for nearly half my life. I aspire to create beautiful things which is why I find making jewellery so appealing – it is unashamedly supposed to be pretty.

I have a BA in Computer Arts where I learned to work digitally with photo manipulation and 3D and I also paint with traditional media (oils/pastels) and work in other media such as stained glass.

In 2009, while browsing the internet, I stumbled across a page of intricate polymer clay millefiori pendants. I was instantly hooked and wanted to know how such colour and detail was achieved. Here was a material that could combine colour, texture and sculptural possibilities!

There is more to Cate’s story at Meet the Seller on Zibbet. Please take a moment to stop by Fulgorine’s to see the fantastic jewelry made using polymer clay. You’ll be amazed by Cate’s creations.

Blue and purple retro bell earrings, polymer clay, glass pearls, niobium earwires

Blue and white polymer clay and glass bead necklace, unique art beads

Turquoise and orange beaded earrings, handmade beads, hypoallergenic earrings, niobium earwires

This entry was posted in Zibbet Artist and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Polymer Clay in the Hands of an Artist

  1. I love those jellyfish looking earrings!

  2. Cute earrings!

    When I was decorating the cottage I briefly considered making cabinet handles with polymer clay. There are some really cute ideas online for them.

    • skatturcast says:

      When I was researching polymer clay I found so many ways that it could be used. It really looks like a lot of fun, and when I get some spare time I want to try making some things. You should try it too! Could be the craft your looking for. Lots of How-to videos out there too. We should make a polymer clay date. Also you know I saw some doorknobs covered in polymer clay that were so cool! You could probably cover your current cabinet handles with clay!

Leave a Reply

