Why Crochet or Knit?

I was asking myself this question as I was preparing to write this blog for Lynette. Lynette is our 2nd member to be promoted this week and her chosen craft is crochet.

Lately my blog focus has been to give a little information on each members chosen craft. While I was doing some research on crochet I found an article that asked the question, “Why Crochet or Knit?” Being a stitcher myself, as I read over their list, I found myself nodding in agreement.

  • It has a calming effect – helps relieve stress! It feels good to work with beautiful yarn colors and textures!          
  • Create sweaters, hats, scarves, mittens, afghans, etc. for others and yourself!
  • Gifts “you make yourself” for family and friends.
  • Children and adults in need of items include: domestic abuse victims, Hospice and local nursing home patients, foster children, low-income families, victims of natural disaster, fires, floods, tornadoes, etc.
  • It is a social activity to share with co-workers, friends, and family.
  • Knitting and Crocheting is “portable” – take it anywhere!
  • Provides a sense of accomplishment when you complete a project.
  • Adds balance to a high-tech, fast-paced, stressful lifestyle.
  • Cost-effective hobby–you can help others with NO cost to you but your time.
  • Maximizes your time while you watch TV, travel, sports events, etc.
  • Carry on a family tradition.
  • Express yourself—design an original garment and accessories.
  • If you have arthritis, knitting or crocheting help to keep the fingers limber. 
  • Knitting and crocheting helps stave off Alzheimer’s

  hmmm I didn’t know that about Alzheimer’s but what a bonus! Number one on the list for me is that, knitting and crocheting is portable! Carry your project with you anywhere. 🙂 The source of that article/list can be found here.

Ok…back to Lynette! Like I said Lynette’s chosen craft is crochet and her Zibbet shop is Yarned Together. Here’s an excerpt from her Zibbet profile:

 I was born and raised on a farm in Jackson County, Michigan. I learned the satisfaction of a job well done at an early age while raising sheep, beef cattle and horses. Being an only child meant finding ways to entertain myself without bothering my parents. I quickly took to my local 4-H Club to learn how to show animals, make ceramics, and help improve the area I lived in through various community service projects. This is also where my love for yarn began.

The woman who was my 4-H leader for crochet and knitting had 6 kids & a whole barn load of patience. She showed me all of the wonderful blankets, hats, mittens, kitchen towels & cloths, sweaters, and even the Grand Champion show blankets made special for the winners of the Jackson County Fair.

I remember being impressed and hoping, one day, to be able to make beautiful garments like Mrs. McMurtrie out of soft, cuddly yarn. She took me under her wing & wrote out (we didn’t have computers back then) all of the crochet terms so I could follow the pattern for the scarf that would be my first project.

Little did I know then that making my first scarf would start a life-long love of yarn. Crochet was the one thing I could always count on, no matter where my husband and I were stationed during his Navy career.

You can read more about Lynette from her Meet the Seller page on Zibbet. At Yarned Together you’ll find fabulous handmade hats, snuggly scarves and cowls. Fashionable bags and purses, beautiful home decor and drool worthy baby clothes. Pop over to Lynette’s shop and see all her unique crocheted creations!

Black and White Houndstooth Handbag, Crochet Purse

Mini Christmas Stocking | Gift Card Holder | Green and Blue Stocking Ornament | Stocking Phone Cozy | Handmade Christmas Stocking

Slouch Beanie Hat, Slouchy Hat, Red & White Slouch, Red White Beanie, Slouchy Style Beanie

This entry was posted in Zibbet Artist and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why Crochet or Knit?

  1. Wow, didn’t know about the Alzheimer’s either! Great article for a great shop!

  2. Thank you SO much! I did know about the Alzheimers but only because my mom-in-law works in the field. It’s a therapy for me as it’s the best way to work through a problem, with a bonus at the end! 😀

Leave a Reply

