History of Painting

ok…as I’ve mentioned before, it’s been my theme to write a little about our group members craft, as I promote them and next up we have a painter. Sooo I do some research on “history of painting” and “styles of paintings” etc and HOLY MOLY ~blinks~ There is sooo much about painting, no wonder there are college courses for art. There is no way I could cover it all in my little ole blog!

So let me just throw out this little fun fact for you: The oldest known paintings are approximately 40,000 years old. Now we know why there is so much info on painting!

Also here’s a brief excerpt from Wikipedia regarding the History of Painting:

The history of painting reaches back in time to artifacts from pre-historic humans, and spans all cultures. It represents a continuous, though periodically disrupted tradition from Antiquity. Across cultures, and spanning continents and millennia, the history of painting is an ongoing river of creativity, that continues into the 21st century. Until the early 20th century it relied primarily on representational, religious, and classical motifs, after which time more purely abstract and conceptual approaches gained favor.

Painting, as an art form, is basically using a colored pigment of some sort and applying it to a surface of some sort.  I think most of us think of painting in the traditional way of using a brush to paint on a canvas, but painting has become much more than that and it seems that the sky’s the limit when it comes to painting techniques.

Chris of Gallery Musings is an award winning artist that paints in an impressionistic style. An excerpt from Chris’s Zibbet profile page:

I’ve been a Fine and Commercial Artist-illustrator my whole life. Dinosaurs were my first drawing subjects, then I moved on to horses and then I had to get a job. Yes, it happens. I am self taught and love to paint. I also paint with watercolors and acrylics.

At Gallery Musings you’ll find original paintings, by Chris, of birds, cows, flowers, landscapes and seascapes. I love the soft focus style of Chris’s paintings! I’m posting a few of my favorites, I hope you’ll visit Gallery Musings and pick out a favorite for yourself.

Cow Painting on 10x10 inch Canvas

Bird Painting, American Robin 6x6 inches on Panel

Serene Sailboat Scene on 5x5 inch Archival Panel

This entry was posted in Zibbet Artist and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to History of Painting

  1. Gotta check out his site to see if he’s got any of goats.

Leave a Reply

